Line art by Peter Beaulieu capturing the historical details of the house in in the 1990s.
On Tuesday Nov 28 the Stanwood Camano community is participating in a collective day of giving. One of the recipients is the Stanwood Area Historical Society. We are asking for funds to supplement our budget for repairs and rehabilitation of the D. O. Pearson House Museum windows and other general maintenance historical repairs. The repair project plan is described on this link: https://www.scgive.org/sahs_project
The photo below depicts the Pearson in the 1920s or 30s, sometime before the wooden sidewalks were replaced by concrete. The photographer of the day is unknown
Join us for this Sunday’s (9/17) H & H Program featuring the life story of the intrepid Swedish American pioneer, Peter Henning.
Henning (1868-1955) was one of our colorful and influencial pioneers who settled in and helped develop the community known as East Stanwood. His career included experience as a Yukon Gold Rush entrepreneur, railroad and road builder, logger, farmer, and millworker. He was influential in the development of the East Stanwood school district of the day, the early banks, the Snohomish County Roads Commision and the Stevens Pass Highway Assn.
Enduring many hardships and setbacks he still led a life of hard work with many more successful accomplishments.
The program features a DVD presentation highlighting the story told in the book.
Refreshments include appetizers and desserts served with coffee, tea, and sparkling juice and wine. Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center.
Stanwood’s Annual Spring Tea Set for April 29th
The Sixth Annual Spring Tea and Vintage Fashion Exhibit will be held on Saturday April 29, 2017 from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. with tea served at 1:30. As in past years, the venue will be the Stanwood Area Historical Society’s Floyd Norgaard Cultural Hall in Stanwood at 27130 102nd Ave.
Tickets are $20.00 and prepaid reservations are required by April 21st.
The Tea will be honoring some of Stanwood’s dynamic women leaders, such as Carrie Wang, Belle Keitel and Anna Hanson Stubb. Everyone is invited to share their memories of these very capable women.
A refreshed “Waistlines and Hemlines” exhibit will be open for viewing and will include, this year, a display of uniforms and stories of veterans from the greater Stanwood area.
Raffle baskets and a silent auction are part of the festivities and prizes will be given for the best hat and vintage outfit.
Stanwood’s Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center will be the Welcome Center for Camano Island’s Historic Sites tour March 25th and 26th.
Maps and information on the Island’s sites will be available at the Center between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. The entire complex, owned by the Stanwood Area Historical Society, will be open during this time, highlighting exhibits in the Pearson house and SAHS museums and including a new Veteran’s display in honor of the memorial being planned by the SAHS.
In addition the Floyd will feature historic and cultural organizations from the greater area which will provide information and crafts of their respective groups. These include book signings by local historians, Stanwood’s Park and Trails Commission, the League of Snohomish County Heritage Organizations, the Stanwood House, the Camano Quilter’s Guild, Josephine Caring Community as well as the Stillaguamish Tribe and Tulalip Tribes of Native Americans. Homemade soups and treats will also be available for sale before visitors begin their trek of the Island. Passports noting visits to the various sites will be available at the Floyd. The passports can also be dropped off at the Floyd for those participating in drawings for prizes.
The Floyd is easily accessible at 27108 102nd Ave NW (Market Street), two blocks off State Highway 532. A great day of exploring Camano Island begins with a preliminary visit to the Floyd in Stanwood.